We're reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.
Cash App

How To Unblock Someone On Cash App! (Full 2022 Guide!)

Jamey Muller
Updated: July 14, 2022
5 min read

Cash App’s block feature allows users to protect themselves against fraud. This is the application’s way of keeping its millions of patrons safe from scammers.

If you have blocked someone voluntarily or by mistake, this guide will teach you how to unblock them.

Here’s How to Unblock Someone on Cash App:

If you want to unblock someone on Cash App, you need to click on the activity tab on your app’s home screen, then look for the person you wish to unblock. Tap on their name, then scroll to the bottom of their profile. When you select Unblock, the person will now get to send you messages and requests.

Cash App has designed its settings so that you can easily unblock users in case you require them in the future. 

Users typically block individuals on Cash App to stop them from sending dubious payment requests or if they suspect them to be involved in scams.

Blocking helps when you want to take a break from these contacts, but if you are ready to continue doing transactions with them, you can unblock them by following a few easy steps.

To start, you need to log in to your Cash App account. Using the search bar, type in the name, email, or phone number of the person you wish to unblock.

Once you have located the person’s profile, you must click on the three-dot section at the top right corner. Look for the Unblock option.

This is usually enough to unblock an account. However, if this does not work, you can always contact Cash App Support to check the issue. 

After unblocking, you can start sending and receiving funds and payment requests or make other transactions with the person.

If you have to block the said contact again at some point, you may follow the same steps and then choose Block.

Before you unblock, think twice. You blocked that user for a reason. If the person turns out to be a scammer, hitting that unblock button may only be to your detriment. 

Cash App warns of fraudsters who prey on unsuspecting users to steal their hard-earned funds. When the hooligan manages to pilfer your funds, they will block you, and you will never hear from them again.

There are many ways you can get scammed on Cash App. 

You should be aware of fraudulent payment claims. Swindlers will ask you to send a small amount so you can receive a bigger payment. In the end, you will not get the money.

You will also encounter individuals claiming referral bonuses if you sign up for services from a particular company.

These are fake. The scammer has no intention of giving you the money, even after you have fulfilled your part in the signup.

If you receive a link on a message from a suspicious user, you should not click. These are phishing websites.

Never give your personal information to anyone, even if they dangle a bait that you have won a huge amount of money.

Some fraudsters pretend to be a Cash App service representative, claiming to collect your financial information.

Some even assert they are to discuss an issue purportedly linked with your account. Once you share your information, you can say goodbye to your money.

If you suspect a potential scammer, you can block by following the same steps when unblocking.

After launching the app, you need to search the person’s profile, then hit the Block button at the bottom of your screen.

You may also search for the profile by entering the name, email, or phone number. 

You may also contact the Cash Support team and report the user if you prefer.

Does the Other Person Get Notified When You Unblock Them?

No. Just like when you first blocked the user on Cash App, they will not be alerted of your decision to unblock.

Cash App does not send notifications on blocking or unblocking certain users. The person will not know they are already unblocked until you appear on their contacts again.

When you block a user on Cash App, you will no longer appear on their contacts list. They will not locate your profile even if they look for you using the search bar.

They will not be able to send you payment requests or do any transactions.

This restriction will be lifted once you unblock them. 

When they realize that you are visible to them again, this clearly indicates your choice to unblock.

They can start sending you messages as frequently as they want. If this is the main reason you blocked them in the first place, it can get annoying quickly.

If you do not wish to block the user again but want to manage the requests you received from them, you can do so.

You should navigate your Cash App profile and click on your profile icon. Afterward, tap on Privacy & Security. 

Select “Receive Requests” only from your approved contracts on the Incoming Request option. If the person is not part of the list, their requests will not go through.

You can also toggle off the “Receive Request” option if you want. However, you should know that even reliable contacts will no longer get to send you requests if you do this.

Can You See if Other Users Blocked You on Cash App?

No. You will not know that a user has blocked you on Cash App. There is no way to tell since Cash App does not send alerts regarding this matter.

You will begin to suspect something is wrong if you do not hear from the person for a long time.

When a user blocks you, all your transactions with them will be gone from your history page. You also will not be able to send or request funds from them.

In fact, you will not be able to see their account at all.

If the person accidentally blocked you, there is no way to contact them and inform them of the mistake using your blocked account.

You need to create a new account or contact them through other means to clarify the matter.

To know if someone blocked you on Cash App, go to your contact list. If the person is not there, that means they blocked you.

If you know their contact information, manually enter their name and phone number on the search bar. You may also use their $Cashtag to see their details.

If your search turns out blank, that user most definitely blocks you.

Is There a Block List on Cash App?

Yes. You can view your block list by logging in to your Cash App account, then the Settings.

You will find the list of all Cash App accounts you blocked, including their numbers, by clicking on the gear icon. 

If you want to unblock a user, you can easily do it via your block list. Just tap their name, then click on the three-dot icon in the top right corner. Finally, click Unblock.

Sources:

Cash App: Block Someone
Parade: 10 Terrible Cash App Scams

Written by
Jamey Muller
I'm the head-writer @ Knowledge Eager (or, in plain English, I'm the guy writing the majority of the content here). Addicted to the stock market, football, sushi and tacos.
Have any questions? Write us a message.
Jamey Muller
I'm the head-writer @ Knowledge Eager (or, in plain English, I'm the guy writing the majority of the content here). Addicted to the stock market, football, sushi and tacos.