We're reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.
General

How To Delete Upwork Account (5 Things You Should Know)

Jamey Muller
Updated: June 8, 2022
6 min read

Being in Upwork is a rewarding experience, but if you are at the stage where you think deleting your account is best, you can do it with simple steps.

Read on to find out how to delete your Upwork account.

Here’s How to Delete Your Upwork Account: (Step-By-Step)

The actual steps involved to close your Upwork account varies depending on the type of account you have. Generally, you need to go to Settings and look for the “Close my account” link. You will be asked to confirm your decision. After that, your Upwork account will be deleted.

There are different reasons a freelancer wishes to close their Upwork account. This may be because they feel discouraged by the poor feedback from clients, or their career has shifted in another direction.

You should reconsider your resolve to delete your account, but if you are adamant, these steps will help.

If you want to close your account at Upwork, you need to make sure that all activities are cleared. This includes all active, open, and pending activities.

Most Upwork freelancers fail to delete their accounts because they do not meet this minimum criterion.

The specific instructions in closing your Upwork account depend on your account type – freelancer, client, client or agency admin, or agency.

For freelancer accounts, you should go to Settings, then Contact Info. You will find the “Close my account” button. 

Once you click on the link, you will be presented with a list of potential reasons why you want to close your account. Choose one, then hit the confirm button.

Usually, this should be enough to delete your freelancer account. However, some users may be advised to contact Upwork Support. 

If this happens to you, you only need to provide the Upwork agent with the necessary data and they will assist you in completing the process.

You should note that some of the reasons listed for closing an Upwork account are violations of the platform’s terms and conditions.

Examples are having a duplicate account, or working directly with a client you met on Upwork.

You should be careful in your option selection if you think you will likely reopen your account at some point.

Before closing your freelancer account, you need to first close all open contracts, withdraw proposals, and make certain that all payments have been received and withdrawn from Upwork.

If you have a client account, the process is the same as closing a freelancer account. You should go to Settings > My Info > Close account.

You should note that deleting a client account can only be done by the company owner. 

Like with freelancer accounts, you should finalize your remaining businesses including removing all team members, closing all contracts and opening jobs, and paying outstanding bills.

If you have hourly contracts, you need to wait for the weekly billing cycle to end before you are allowed to close your client account.

For an admin or manager account, you need to follow a different route. Go to Settings > My Teams > Actions. Then, select the “Leave Team” button.

You need to repeat this process for all the teams you are part of. The moment you leave your teams, your account will be closed.

For team members, you need to request your team admin or manager to remove you from the team.

If you want to close an agency account, go to Settings > Agency Profile > Close my Agency. 

Before doing these steps, you should ensure that you have removed all members, closed all contracts and proposals, and confirmed that all payments have been received and withdrawn.

Upwork users should note that if you have a freelancer and a client profile, both your accounts will be deleted when you close either profile type.

Meanwhile, if you have both a freelancer and agency account, deleting your agency account will not close your freelancer account.

You cannot delete your Upwork account from the mobile app. To start the process, log in to your account via personal computer or laptop.

Can I Reopen My Account Again?

Yes. You can reopen your closed Upwork account by contacting the platform’s support team. 

Upwork Support will help you restore your account, but it may take some time to process your request. That is why you should think twice before closing your account in the first place.

Even if you can never imagine yourself going back to Upwork, you should not burn the bridge and cancel your account.

The freelancing world is always changing, so you never know what will happen next.

If you want to take some time off Upwork, there is no need to close your account. Instead, there are several alternatives you may want to consider.

Most users who wish to close their account cite being overwhelmed with work and can no longer manage jobs on Upwork. 

Instead of deleting your account, you can simply make yourself unavailable for future work. Go to Settings > My Profile > Availability.

You can also set your profile to private. This works if you do not plan to use your Upwork account for some time. 

If you belong to the Freelancer Plus squad, you may want to downgrade to the free Basic Plan so you do not need to pay the fee for the months you will be inactive.

While you will lose some benefits, you will still get 10 connects monthly. You will also retain your profile and work history.

In the past, Upwork has been known to close long-term inactive accounts. It will help if you do some occasional work on the platform to keep your profile active.

Can People Still See My Upwork Profile Once I Close My Account?

No. Once you close your Upwork account, clients will no longer be able to view your profile. All your information from Upwork will be deleted.

However, there are instances when your Upwork account shows up in search results even after deleting it. In such cases, you probably did not meet the requirements in closing your account.

This happens when you still have open contacts and proposals or have remaining funds in your account.

A request to Upwork Support should solve your problem. You may also ask the representative to de-index your profile so it will no longer be searchable.

Google de-indexing may time some time, so you should be patient.

What Happens to My Upwork Balance When I Close My Account?

Technically, your Upwork balance should be zero when you delete your account. This is because you are required to withdraw all your funds before you start the closing process.

The moment you hit that delete button, you will lose access and be unable to log into your account.

If you still have a balance left and Upwork somehow allowed you to close your account, your earnings will be unavailable for withdrawal.

Can I Reuse the Same Email Address to Open a New Account?

No. Upwork only allows users to have only one account. Having duplicate accounts is a violation of its terms and conditions.

Using the same email address to open a new Upwork account is against the platform’s rules. Your account will be suspended, or worse, banned.

What you can do is ask Upwork Support to reopen your closed account where you originally used your email address.

This way, you can have your account back and not infringe Upwork’s ToS.

Can You Make a New Upwork Account After Deleting One?

No. Users whose accounts were deleted are no longer allowed to create new accounts in compliance with Upwork’s terms of service.

If Upwork lets users delete and start over, this will open up the platform to all kinds of abuse.

You only get one account. Once you delete it, you will lose access to the Upwork database and will not be able to apply for jobs.

Fortunately, Upwork permits users to reopen their closed accounts. You may send a request to the support team.

Sources:

Upwork

Freelance Growth Academy

Written by
Jamey Muller
I'm the head-writer @ Knowledge Eager (or, in plain English, I'm the guy writing the majority of the content here). Addicted to the stock market, football, sushi and tacos.
Have any questions? Write us a message.
Jamey Muller
I'm the head-writer @ Knowledge Eager (or, in plain English, I'm the guy writing the majority of the content here). Addicted to the stock market, football, sushi and tacos.